Amelia Earhart Fellowship for Women in Aerospace/Mechanical Engineering 2021

Application for Amelia Earhart Fellowship is currently open. The Zonta International provides Amelia Earhart PhD Research fellowship for women of any race in Aerospace-related Sciences and Aerospace-related Engineering at any University or College offering Accredited Degrees. Worldwide, women constitute around 25 percent of the workforce in the aerospace industry. In an effort to accomplish its mission that women have right to all resources and are represented in decision-making positions on an equal basis with men, Zonta International provides the Amelia Earhart Fellowship. 

The Amelia Earhart Fellowship was founded in 1938 in honor of famed pilot Zontian, Amelia Earhart. The US$10,000 Fellowship is granted yearly to up to 35 women pursuing Ph.D./doctoral degrees in aerospace engineering and space sciences. It can be used at any university or college offering accredited post-graduate courses and degrees in these fields. 

Since the program’s inception in 1938, Zonta has awarded 1,638 Amelia Earhart Fellowships, totaling more than US$10.6 million, to 1,209 women representing 73 countries.


Application deadline: 15th November 2020

Offered annually: Yes

Eligible Countries: Women from Any Country

To be taken at (country): Any University or College offering Accredited Degrees in any country.

Subject Areas: PhD/Doctoral degrees in Aerospace-related Sciences and Aerospace-related Engineering

Offered Since: 1938

Type: PhD/Doctoral

Eligibility for Amelia Earhart Fellowship

  • Women of any race pursuing a Ph.D./doctoral degree who exhibit a superior academic record in the field of aerospace-applied sciences or aerospace-applied engineering are qualified.
  • Applicants must be registered in a full-time Ph.D./doctoral program and accomplished minimum of one year of that program or have received a master’s degree in an aerospace-applied field at the time the application is submitted.
  • Applicants must not graduate from their Ph.D. or doctoral program before April 2022.
  • Please note that post-doctoral research programs are not eligible for the Fellowship.
  • Fellows and staffs of Zonta International or the Zonta International Foundation are also not qualified to apply for the award.
  • Note that previous Amelia Earhart Fellows are not eligible to apply to renew the Fellowship for a second year.

Number of Awards: Not specified

Benefits Amelia Earhart Fellowship

  • Fellowship of US$10,000 is granted yearly
  • The Fellowship empowers these women to invest in state-of-the-art computers to carry out their research, acquire expensive books and resource materials, and partake in specialized studies around the world.
  • Amelia Earhart Fellows have proceeded to become astronauts, aerospace engineers, astronomers, professors, geologists, business owners, heads of companies, even Secretary of the US Air Force.

Duration of Amelia Earhart Fellowship: One year (current fellows can reapply to renew the fellowship each year)

How to Apply for Amelia Earhart Fellowship

The Zonta International Amelia Earhart Fellowship Committee evaluates the applications and recommends beneficiaries to the Zonta International Board. All candidates are assessed on the criteria stated in the requirements section of the application. All information of the evaluations is kept confidential; assessments are not disclosed to candidates. All candidates will be alerted of their status by the end of April. Hard copy and email applications will not be acknowledged.

To apply click  Apply Now

Important Note: Please note that post-doctoral research programs are not eligible for the Fellowship. Fellows and staffs of Zonta International or the Zonta International Foundation are also not qualified to apply for the Fellowship.

Amelia Earhart Fellowships are made possible by generous donations to the Zonta International Foundation Amelia Earhart Fellowship Fund. 


Katiyayni Balachandran, Canada 
Akanksha Baranwal, India 
Elizabeth Benitez, United States 
Anne Bennett, United States 
Valerie Bernstein, United States 
Sriramya Bhamidipati, India 
Celia Chari, Spain and Canada 
Laura Chaves, Colombia 
Ellen Czaplinski, United States 
Anabel del Val, Spain 
Airin Dutta, India 
Beatrice Fragge, Germany 
Anushka Goyal, India 
Annika Gustafsson, United States and Sweden 
Sarzina Hossain, Bangladesh 
Donna Jennings, United States 
Ashwini Karmarkar, India 
Yaeji Kim, South Korea 
Solène Kojtych, France 
Sarah Li, Canada 
Erica Luzzi, Italy 
Rong Ma, China, PR 
Lisa Meyer, Germany 
Rachel Morgan, United States 
Shaylah Mutschler, United States 
Cody Paige, Canada 
Margherita Piccinin, Italy  
Jennifer Pouplin, France 
Annika Rollock, United States and Canada 
Sneha Sanjeevini, India 
Sarah Stirrat, United Kingdom 
Suria-Devi Subiah, South Africa 
Cecily Sunday, United States 
Joana Voigt, Germany 
Shuming Wu, China, PR 

For further inquiry on Amelia Earhart Fellowship Visit Scholarship Webpage for details


Enter Your Details Below

Hey You!

Don't Miss This Opportunity